We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalizing content and advertising. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of Cookies, revised Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
  • Edit

Treasurer Scott Morrison to become Australia's next prime minister

2018-08-24 07:52
Treasurer Scott Morrison will be Australia's new prime minister after winning a three-way battle for the leadership of the Liberal party on Friday (August 24), with incumbent Malcolm Turnbull not contesting the party ballot. There were three contenders in the leadership vote: former home affairs minister Peter Dutton, who narrowly lost a leadership vote against Turnbull on August 21, Morrison and Foreign Minister Julie Bishop. Credit: Reuters